Meet Our Board

The Board of Directors of Queensland Airports Limited (QAL) is responsible for Corporate Governance across the business.

QAL has achieved continued convergence and integration of its governance, risk and compliance functions. Consultation between the Board and Executive in relation to these areas has resulted in an increased focus and level of responsibility within each business unit. We are committed to the continuous improvement and development of governance processes to ensure they are embedded throughout the QAL group.

QAL believes the implementation of appropriate and relevant corporate governance practices will enhance the performance of the company and allow for stronger relationships with our shareholders, customers, the local community and other relevant stakeholders.

QAL recognises the benefits of best practice corporate governance principles as a benchmark guide for its corporate governance framework.

John O’Neill AO

Non-Executive Director

Independent Chairman. Non-Executive Director appointed 1 July 2019.

John has created success running three major organisations in banking and in international sports. Previous senior management roles include State Bank of New South Wales, Australian Rugby Union (ARU) and Football Federation Australia (FFA). John was appointed to the position of inaugural Chairman of Events New South Wales in 2007, serving in that role until 2010. More recently, John was appointed as Chairman of Star Entertainment Group in 2012 and Bates Smart Advisory Board in 2018. John is also an Advisory Council Member of China Matters. John was a recipient of the Australian Sports Medal in 2000 for this ongoing contribution to the nation’s sporting success and was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2004.

Ashley Kilroy

Non-Executive Director

FAICD, Non-Executive Director appointed 26 October 2012.

Ashley is a former airline executive with more than 40 years’ aviation management experience with TAA/Australian Airlines and Qantas. Ashley’s experience includes senior executive roles in commercial, airport management and regional airlines. Ashley is chairman of Aviation Australia Pty Limited and a non-executive director of Mildura Airport Pty Limited. 

Alan Mulgrew

Non-Executive Director

BA (Mgnt), Dip Corp Fin, GRAICD, JP, Non-Executive Director appointed 25 March 2013.

Chairman of the Aeronautical and Related Infrastructure Committee.

Alan has more than 30 years’ experience as a senior executive heading up large capital intensive organisations, both in Australia and overseas – including Perth and Sydney airports. He is a non-executive director of Adelaide Airport Ltd, Tesla Corporation and CBH Group. He is chairman of Western Power, Western Carbon, Australian Renewable Fuels Pty Ltd and Tourism Western Australia.

Steven Fitzgerald

Non-Executive Director

BEcon, Non-Executive Director appointed 23 March 2018.

Steven is Head of Asset Management at Morrison & Co and a director of Transgrid and Perth Airport. Previously he was CEO of Wellington International Airport and ran Infratil’s European airports. Steven also worked for Sydney Airport, where he held a number of senior roles which included General Manager Airport Operations, Head of Commercial Trading and Manager Economics. 

Amanda McMillan OBE

Non-Executive Director

BAcc, CA, Non-Executive Director appointed 24 August 2018.

An experienced airport executive and chartered accountant, Amanda is an Executive Director in Macquarie’s Infrastructure and Real Assets Australian Transport Team. Amanda is the Chair of Hobart Airport, a director of Perth Airport, and a director of North Queensland Airports Limited. Amanda is the former Chief Executive Officer of AGS Airports Limited, one of the United Kingdom’s leading airport groups and operator of Aberdeen, Glasgow and Southampton airports. She was awarded an OBE by her Majesty the Queen for her services to business and tourism in 2013 and holds honorary doctorates from both the University of Glasgow and Glasgow Caledonian University.

Hugh FitzSimons

Non-Executive Director

B.Ec, LL.B (Hons) Non-Executive Director appointed 1 February 2019.

Hugh leads the Transport and Healthcare sector for Macquarie Infrastructure and Real Assets in Australia and New Zealand, and has worked at Macquarie since 2004. He is a member of the Management Committee of The Infrastructure Fund and is the Chief Operating Officer of the Macquarie Global Infrastructure Fund series. Hugh is also a Director of Hobart Airport, the Port of Newcastle and Oceania Healthcare (NZ).

Elizabeth Albergoni

Non-Executive Director

LL.B, LL.M (Hons 1) Non-Executive Director appointed 1 March 2019.

Elizabeth is an Investment Director based in Sydney for HRL Morrison & Co. Elizabeth has responsibility for the performance of a number of the investments Morrison & Co manages on behalf of its clients. She has extensive industry executive experience including nine years with Sydney Airport immediately prior to joining Morrison & Co. and several years working as a competition and regulatory lawyer, focussed on infrastructure. Elizabeth is a director of Perth Airport and an executive board member of the World Airport Lawyers’ Association.